Skip to content


Reflections: a study of self, before

I’m writing an article about courage as part of my focus on matters of the heart.

listen to your heart

“The human heart is so delicate and sensitive that it always needs some tangible encouragement to prevent it from faltering in its labor. The human heart is so robust, so tough, that once encouraged it beats its own rhythm with a loud unswerving consistency. One thing that encourages the heart is music.”

– Maya Angelou: Letter to My Daughter, p85

Listening to voice diaries from August 2009, I’m falling in love with myself again. Somehow re-reading my past diaries, I get exasperated with myself and cringe; but listening to them, I feel compassion and gentleness. Maybe I’ll record myself more. Maybe I’ll put excerpts on Soundcloud…!

I’m listening to my ramblings about past relationships and finding it intriguing how much my ideas have changed about so many things. Wondering if I’ll learn something from my past self that will give me some insight I can use in my zine about queer asexuality.

I’m doing lots of looking at the past – looking at websites I’ve made, reading poems I’ve written, and listening to my voice.

Reflections. Formless. Rambling. Musings. Why?

Posted in Musings.