Skip to content


DIY Cultures 2014 – bounce!

I’m lonely.

I had a great time.

Inbetween the first and the last, there was DIY Cultures.

Due to road closures (some running in Central London) and hoards of people (football fans and pubs), it was really difficult to actually get there; and I arrived just before the doors were due to open to the public.

But, I was really clear in my mind how I wanted the stall to be, so I setup super-fast.

My stall at the zine festival

Slow start, but it picked up.

Frustratingly, I’d misprinted the address of this blog as freely.noblogs.net and it was a while before I spotted the error on my zines. I’m hoping Google will index freely.noblogs.net so that people can find me here.

I was selling zines for a friend as well and we both sold a lot of stuff, hurray!

Shattered now, but trying to find details of other zine festivals happening so that I can be there…

Edited to add some…

Highlights

  • I sold/swapped 6 copies of Unsewing My Lips (all that I took with me) and 13 copies of Hard Off #1 – whoot!
  • I’m really impressed with how organised the DIY Cultures organisers are; they do so much work
  • I learnt a lot about what I want to do better next time and I’m impatient for the next zine event 🙂
  • I loved my original table cloth (a mixture of scaves and table runners I’ve knitted) and one zinestar commented positively about that too
  • Meeting awesome people, here are some links Squid, Hysteria, International Nobody, XubiliThe Icarus Project

Posted in Stuff about Zines.